Albanian heavy metal cocks!

March 21 2015
Title: Albanian heavy metal cocks

After the host family introduction, everyone packed up and met up with their host family. There were 19 furgons outside and everyone was fixing to find their host family. My family found me before I found them. We had an introduction and cocktails. Luckily, I didn’t ride a furgon but they have a private car.

When I got to my assigned site, my flat is a two story. I was being treated like a queen. This is something I need to get used to because Albanians are very warm and welcoming people.

There’s still a huge language barrier and the communication consisted a lot of charades and me looking like an idiot. It’s not that I’m shy, but my Albanian is still weak. The older couple neighbor is hosting my colleague. I was happy to see them, as they were able to speak Russian, grew up during Enver Hoxha era. I turned Russian and immediately had a conversation. I felt shameful for not being able to speak in shqip but Russian is my predominate language. At some point, I spoke French and German to a few other Albanians.

Being with my host family the whole day was interesting and exhausting but I learned a lot on listening and speaking. They spoke fast but they facilitated in order to get me to understand.

Throughout the day, roosters were making loud noises throughout the village, it doesn’t matter what time. It sounded as if there was a heavy metal concert going on, and this will keep going for as long as I stay here.

March 21 2015-2
Title: From DuRPA DuRP to AH HAH

Later on in the evening, my shqip started clicking and I was able to carry a conversation about religion, history and politics in Enver Hoxha era. It’s weird how my brain mode went from “no, think Russian!!!” to “Aydah in deep Shqip!”

I went to my freezing room, luckily with tons of blanket. Comfortable and relaxing. I have not relax in days! Well, this is what I assigned up for: less rest, more improving the community.
========================
Albanian word of the day:
“Shëndet”

Pronounced like: shawn-deeht

Meaning: when someone sneezed, this phrase is equivalent to “Bless you”. After that, you respond with thank you.

Faleminderit
(Fah-leh-min-deh-rit)
Meaning: thank you

Example dialogue:
Bob:ACHOOOOOOOOOO
Bobbette: Shëndet!
Bob: Faleminderit!
=============
Mosque by my house
image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

