A trip to Tirana

My trip to Tirana was brief and controlled. However, I’m not complaining and I did have a good time. We all thought that we were going to relax but we had to follow the schedule by our tour guide.
image

image

The road between Elbasan and Tirana was very wavy and narrow along the mountains. It was almost an hour long.

When we got there, we walked to the Peace Corps office. We had a quick tour around and then off to exploring.

The group did a scavenger hunt so whoever wins receive a prize. In the end, I won an Albanian flag.

Our first visit was the Skanderbeg Square. The area around it was beautiful but rainy.

image

image

This is the upside down building because it’s big on top and it gets smaller down the bottom.

image

Then we walked to the store that sells dried fruits and spices. I found a bottle of Sriracha sauce but it cost is 750 lekë. I did not buy it.
image

image

image

We had Mexican food at Serendipity and I ordered enchilada in lasagna form. This restaurant serves Tabasco sauce, which gave me beautiful times. Free Wi-Fi was included!

image

image

Then we walked around Taiwan Center. It’s a nice place with water fountains, cafe and ice cream.

image

image

image

I don’t want to know what’s in that water but this spot reminded me of the river in Seoul.

After that, we walked to the Enver Hoxha Pyramid. I needed to challenge myself as a human and climbed up the pyramid.

image

image

I climbed to the top and saw a nice view from the top.

image

At the top is a dome where you can look inside.

image

I was told in the summer, it’s an art  exhibition.

After that, we walked to the building that is similar to The White House.

image

There were a few things at the park such as the piece from the Berlin Wall and the bunker..

image

image

image

image

image

image

We walked to the University of Tirana.

image

image

After meeting at the university, the rest of the trainees took the bus back to Elbasan and then call it a day.

Leave a Reply

