Swearing in day

I had a dream of joining the Peace Corps. I’m finally living the dream. I’m officially a Peace Corps Volunteer. It felt great. A success. I’m happy I made it this far. The zombie apocalypse training was intense but I learned a lot! I had a surprise visit from my host sister. I didn’t think anyone from my host family would see me at the swear in ceremony. It was at the Skampa Theater in Elbasan.

In the beginning of the ceremony, Albanian national anthem started playing. The U.S. anthem was next. Back in America, I was used to hearing the music so I was indifferent. However, hearing it in Albania felt different. My eyes felt a little teary. It was the sense of patriotism…sense of pride. Albanians have great respect for Americans, for what we did for them.

image

image

Call me a dork but these guys also swore in!

image

After the swear-in, people took pictures and exchanged farewells. I had brunch with a couple of my colleagues around Elbasan. I went to the Kafe Kalaja, on top of the castle cafe. It was bright and sunny but the weather was decent.

image

image

image

This is the top view of Elbasan center from the top cafe.

The group took the bus to Durres. We went to the resort and I had the best luxurious shower. It felt epic and I felt human again. I needed it after two months of quick showers in Peqin.
The beach reminded me of the west coast- California, but the sea is Adriatic.

image

image

image

There’s also a pool and we played frisbees.

image

image

A çun spotted me and tried to get my attention “I LIKE KOREAN GIRLS!” I pretend not to hear.

In the evening, everyone met up with their counter parts. I met mine and there were awkward silence but I tried to keep the conversation going. The dinner was weak but the after dinner was fun. Everyone did circle dancing. It was a blast. I’m glad to be a part of the circle dance, and knowing I can’t dance but I had no shame.

image

image

After that, I walked to the beach in the dark with a few of my colleagues. It was the last time I will see my colleagues until we part ways. It’s been a great rollercoaster ride!

Today, I had a great day. Tomorrow, I hope it will be as good as today.

Here’s to two years!

Leave a Reply

