Day trip in Durres

I took the morning bus to Durres. It was an hour journey. When I finally got off, I met up with my friend at the main square where there was the city hall, water fountain, cafes, Palm trees and a mosque. Funny thing about my friend was, everywhere we go, people wanted his pictures and be his friends. People thought I wasn’t American, and thought I was from China. Whatever…

image

In between the city hall and the mosque, there’s the Durres amphitheatre.

image

Then we walked towards the seaside. Pictures don’t do justice but it’s something to show that I had fun. The view was beautiful through my naked eyes. I can’t get the view I wanted from my camera, but at least it was less disappointing. There were several beach bums begged us for money but I kept walking.

image

image

image

image

image

I made a few new friends, who were university students from Tirana. We walked around and ate pizza at the Wild West. I was not impressed with the pizza but it was just filling my stomach at least. The interior was western style decor, it made me feel like I was back in the west. The service was ok but I didn’t mind it.

image

image

image

I walked around and was being a tourist.

image

image

image

Venetian Castle on the right with umbrellas popped on its top.

I took the bus to the beach and had fun memories with colleagues and new friends.

image

It throws me off that this is Albania.

image

The collapsed bunker in the water.

image

image

image

image

image

I played bumper cars with new friends.

Finally it was time to part. I was heading to Kavajë for a quick visit before heading back home. Kavajë has several beaches that’s only 5 minutes away!

image

It’s in the creation of improvement. It’s developing to look beautiful and pretentious.

image

image

image

I think there should be a variety in this town and in all of Albania. There should be more than just pizza, pasta shops and cafes. The diversity is nearly non-existence and little creativity. Avash avash though.

This town threw me off, with old meets new. A lot are being built and under construction. How long will this area continue to stay clean and trash free? I noticed there were more women and children out walking, or maybe because it’s summer. I noticed fashionable clothing. I saw a woman with fake Gucci purse. At least she dressed better than me.

Speaking of that, I need to learn how to dress like a female. That’s something I’m terrible with. I need help.

I met up with another volunteer who lives in Kavajë. It was pleasant to catch up with her.

Today has been an exciting day of exploring other cities. Until next time….

==========
Albanian of the day:
Qaj hallet
meaning “cry problems”

In personal experience, the new friends who we just met, they think we were easy to talk to about their problems. We’re more open, but with other Albanians, the mentality is different and talking about their problems with other Albanians who they just met would be awkward. For us, they “cried their problems” out.

Leave a Reply

