Rest in Peace David Bowie, and school tasks

Yesterday, I learned that Bowie died from liver cancer. That’s very unfortunate but he died peacefully with his family around him, sad but good that they were with him until he’s gone. I was never really a David Bowie fan but there are a lot of good songs that I enjoy from him and respect. I haven’t cried over a celebrity since Joe Strummer’s death. These guys are legends and I can see many influences from them to newer generation artists. For example with Marilyn Manson’s Mechanical Animals years, Manson’s style and make-up reminded me of David Bowie’s earlier times.


Meanwhile in Albania, I’m back at my usual routine. School has kept me busy good!

Peace Corps has started a writing campaign for volunteers who wish to participate by running the competition at their local site. It’s called Write-On Albania, and it is a creative writing competition, getting students who are involved in using their creativity and imagination. My counterpart and I are promoting this competition. I walked from class to class making announcements and trying to get students interested. Many seem interested and excited. A few came to my English class for inquiries.

My counterpart and I are working on a school play about school against bullying. Our class with the strongest English speakers will be performing a play. We’ve been rehearsing with them and giving suggestions and ideas on how to play the part. I researched a few high-school movies from: Mean Girls, Jawbreaker, and She’s All That. After showing a few clips from these movies, my acting students’ performance improved. My partner and I were pleased!

20160112_131504

How’s the weather in Belsh? Cold and rainy! In the afternoon, the lake view looked beautiful, with odd cloud shapes covering the mountain top of Gradishta.

20160111_163626

At the Belsh bookstore, I found a book about Trump. I was surprised. I asked the lady who works there, but my Albanian was terrible that she could barely understand me. Somehow the conversation clicked, she offered to let me borrow the book for a day, but I couldn’t accept such generous offer.

20160112_135329


Albanian words of the day:

i krisur – “cuckoo”, crazy, or scratch (a scratched screen)

Mblidhe/mblidhi – collect (collect something up, collect up your things, collect up your money, toys)

gjys per gjys – half and half

hi (pronounced as “he”)- ash

dhuron – donate

buf – owl

 

Leave a Reply

