My TOFEL observation experience

I had a few WTF moments as an observer at my assigned TOFEL testing center.

I was assigned as an observer at a school called Karl Gega in Tirana. I had an hour online training. Prior to that, I was expecting to read through the guidelines and inspect testing materials before test begins at the school. However, it was not what I had expected. Many rules were not followed. The test started late. Teachers who distributed the tests to students weren’t sure how the procedure goes and they didn’t know what to do with the observers (me and an american expat). We felt like our time was wasted, especially for me. So the expat and I had to improvised and decided we should monitor 7 classes that are testing. Some classes with students didn’t quite follow the rules so we had to reiterate a few times. It was a mess. After the test, we didn’t get to inspect anything. Teachers collected the test materials and then walked out.

The weather was sweltering hot and I was sweating like a pig. I was self-showering in my own sweat. The down side of participating this was as a Peace Corps volunteer, I don’t get paid the 50 euros. For the expat who I was associating with did get paid. Would I do this again? Probably not, unless I get paid. It’s a good experience to have at least.

20160624_150012

Leave a Reply

