Name-blind grading

When I grade tests, I avoid looking at students’ names no matter if they’re the best or not. I grade them fair and square.

First, I avoid looking at the names. Then I start going through each questions and mark the ones with incorrect answer. Then, I count all the questions that they got right and write down the grade that they earned at the corner of the front page. Finally, when it’s time to pass out all the graded tests, I still avoid looking at names. At this point, I hand the stack of graded tests to my counterpart. One time I looked at a student’s test while grading just out of curiosity. It quickly changed my opinion about grading this particular test but I continue to stand with my fairness by grading fairly.

Students will see the grades they earned. Not many were happy. Sorry but not sorry! I’m only being fair. From what I was told, some teachers look at the name of each students’ tests and they just mark the grade without correcting them. Some teachers favor some students (they get the best mark) and the students  (who they don’t favor) gets the lowest mark. I think that is corrupted and unfair because what if that “least favorite” student is actually smart and answered all the test questions correctly? If not, then what is their bias based on? Their looks? Behavior? Get bribe from parents? This is why I name-blind grade students’ tests because it’s only fair and I am a teacher. When I told my student this, she said that is the fairest thing she has ever heard and that she accepts the grade she deserve. I am not a friend in school ground. Outside of school, then I am a friend.

As for cheating on tests, I take that seriously. It’s a do-over or immediate FAIL. I am not a friend during test session. My eyes burns red.

Leave a Reply

