I am a 10 because…

Boosting students’ self-esteem is important. In class, we discussed the difference between compliments and flattery. Then, I gave each students a compliment starting with “You are a 10 because….”. I told one student “Leidi, you are a 10 because you have a nice engagement ring”. I told another student that she looks beautiful today. I told a male student he’s lookin’ SWAG! I told another student that he’s the best soccer player, and so on. Then, I asked students to compliment each other. Although they seem shy, they also felt nice receiving compliments. Funny part was, students were afraid to compliment me! Overall, it was fun!

Then, I asked students to write good thing about themselves on a table cloth. Students gathered around reading other students’ compliment from different classes. It’s nice to see that they are learning about each other.

20170316_120921

20170316_12100720170316_12100020170316_121019

Leave a Reply

